Welcome Guest
"Verify your account now or we'll close it" - SCAM! 05/03/2018
Email scams attempting to get your personal account information are becoming prolific. What is the simplest way to protect yourself and your team members from becoming a victim?
Its a scam!  

As the use of multiple online (cloud) services becomes the 'norm' for all types of computer users from home professionals to large corporations, the chance of accidentally getting caught is more likely. Everyday TEGRO sees emails to clients pretending to be from companies like Microsoft, Dropbox and many others. The emails can look legitimate, and as many people use Microsoft Office 365 and Dropbox its easy to think you need to action these emails - but you should not! 
 
What action can you take to protect your self
  • Never click on links in an email asking you to 'verify your account' or 'extend your subscription' or 'expand your storage' unless you are expecting the email because your been on the providers subside and requested the email. 
  • If ever contacted via email about a service you have, your first presumption should be 'its probably a scam'. However, if you're worried contact the person you pay for your service via email or phone that you have used before (NOT by clicking on links or calling any phone numbers in the email). 
  • If you're curious, you can hover your mouse over the email address the email has come from and the link they are trying to send you to, and you will often see that it is not actually from the organisation.
  • When in doubt, TEGRO is here to help. It's best if you can learn how to filter these scams yourself, but if you're worried that it may be legitimate you can forward the email to the TEGRO service desk
Why do people do this, and why am I targeted? 
Typically people use automated programs to send billions of emails to email addresses collected from many locations. You are probably not being targeted, you're just one of the billions! Rouge organisations attempt to get your login details which may be used for a variety of purposes including blackmail and identity theft. 

What if I clicked a link already?
If you have clicked a link and entered your username and password it's important you take immediate action. Below are some steps you might like to take *
  • Login to the service through your normal method and change your password immediately
  • If possible, check for recent login activity and confirm that it was you
  • Change passwords for any other services that use the same username and password (TEGRO recommends NEVER using the same username and password for two different services)
  • If possible contact the provider and let them know what happened, they may have ways of making sure your account is secure
  • Be aware, some services allow people to create secondary logins or setup email forwarding so even once you have changed your password someone may still have access to your account
  • Always seek professional technology advice to resolve compromised systems
If you have clicked a link and downloaded a file to your computer t's important you take immediate action. Below are some steps you might like to take *
  • Unplug your computer from all other computers, and preferably turn it off (you may have downloaded a program that locks your files or allows another party to spy on you
  • Change passwords to any systems you think may have been compromised
  • Keep a close eye on your different accounts to make sure they are not being accessed by anyone but you
  • Always seek professional technology advice to resolve compromised systems

* without knowing exactly what you may have clicked on or downloaded, these steps should be treated as a guide only. You should seek specific professional technology advice to deal with any compromise to your technology. TEGRO is available to be engaged to provide advice if required.


Some example scam emails are shown below. 

 
 

Shopping Basket

Your Shopping Basket
is currently empty